Somalia Separation into Protectorates

Italian, British, and French  Somaliland

  • August 1940: Italian occupation of British Somaliland.
  • February 1941: British administration of Italian Somali.
By the end of the 19 th century the Somali homeland was partitioned into the five colonial territories referred to earlier: French Somaliland, British Somaliland, the British area known as the Northern Frontier District (NFD) indirectly ruled by Kenya, Italian Somaliland and Ethiopian-controlled parts of the Ogaden.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s